Friday, June 21, 2013

A Summer Solstice Supper and Summer Reading List

Welcome! My friends and I picked the Summer Solstice to offer you a sumptuous supper and a buffet of books to satisfy your reading hunger. A good meal and a great book—summer doesn’t get any better than this.   

Each author is sharing a favorite dish, and the menu is chock-full of mouthwatering delights.  Also, the menu contains the title of one of the author’s books and a web link.

Click on the link by the author’s name to find the directions for making the dish AND to learn more about the author and their book(s).

I invite you to visit each author, make a new friend or two, and celebrate the summer with us. Enjoy!!

Menu and book list:

Please check out the rest of the menu - Plus Author's books

Cocktails
Blackberry Gin and Tonic by J.K. O'Hanlon -Three Ingredient Cocktails ~ www.thirstyjane.com
Pomegranate Martini by Kathy L Wheeler - Quotable ~ http://kathylwheeler.com

Appetizer
Japanese Chicken Wings by Jan Morrill -The Red Kimono ~ www.TheRedKimono.com
Sweet & Sour Hawaiian Meatballs               by Vonnie Davis - Rain Is A Love Song ~ ttp://www.vintagevonnie.blogspot.com
Easy Stuffed Mushrooms by Alicia Dean - Liberty Awakened (Isle of Fangs, Book 1) ~http://aliciadean.com/alicias-blog/

Salad
7 Layer Salad by               AJ Nuest -  She's Got Dibs ~ http://ajbooks.blogspot.com/
Mandarin orange & spinach salad by Barbara Barrett - And He Cooks Too ~www.barbarabarrettbooks.com
Mango Black Bean Salad for 4 by Romney Nesbitt - Secrets from a Creativity Coach ~ www.romneynesbitt.net

Entrée
Pesto Chicken by Nancy Parra - Gluten for Punishment ~ www.nancyjparra.blogspot.com
Taquitos               by Calisa Rhose - Risk Factors ~ http://calisarhose.com/chit-chat/
Linda's Summer Shrimp Boil by Linda Joyce - Bayou Born ~ http://lindajoycecontemplates.wordpress.com/
Oven Fried peach chicken              Juli D. Revezzo - The Artist's Inheritance ~ http://julidrevezzo.com/blog/
Betty’s Nutty Pork Chops by Betty Bolte - Hometown Heroines ~ www.bettybolte.com/blog.htm

Dessert
Kolaches by Gina Hooten Popp - The Storm After ~ https://www.facebook.com/ginahootenpoppauthor
Chocolate-Cherry-Coconut Cupcakes by Luna Zega - Tokyo Tease ~ http://lunazega.com/cupcakes.html
Fruit Compote by Brenda Sparks - A Midsummer Night's Demon ~http://www.brenda-sparks.com/blog.html

After Dinner Drinks


After Dinner Iced Coffee by Sandra Sookoo - Winging It ~ http://sandrasookoo.wordpress.com/

Pesto Chicken Recipe Directions (For ingredients go to http://lindajoycecontemplates.wordpress.com/ )

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Grease a baking dish.
  2. Spread about 2 tablespoons of pesto per chicken breast over the top of each breast, and wrap each breast in prosciutto slices to cover the entire breast. Place the wrapped chicken breasts into the prepared baking dish.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven until the chicken is no longer pink, the juices run clear, and the prosciutto is lightly crisped, about 25 minutes.










5 comments:

Luna Zega said...

Love the title of your book--Gluten for Punishment. Just the title makes me want to read it. Can't wait!

Barbara Barrett said...

Looks like a way to make chicken less boring. I'll definitely check it out.

Barbara Barrett

Calisa Rhose said...

Yum! This sounds wonderful, Nancy.

Alicia Dean said...

I'm always looking for new things to do to chicken. :-) This sounds awesome. I love pesto. Love the title of your book, too, LOL.

Dede Herdani said...

thank you for the info

obat untuk orang yang keguguran

peluang usaha sampingan di jongol bogor

lowongan kerja di yogyakarta01

obat pembersih rahim alami pasca keguguran

usaha online rumahan

usaha sampingan online